NZSO Soloists' Concerti

Late last year, Morandini House Concert attendees had the privilege of hearing fine performances by students from the University of Waikato Conservatorium of Music as they prepared to compete in Christchurch at the  New Zealand National Concerto Competition.  

Conservatorium students, Matthias Balzat and Hyein Kim,  were successful in winning two of the four prizes in the competition As prize-winners, they will both perform as soloists with the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra in Christchurch.

This next Morandini House Concert is your chance to hear Mathias and Hyein perform their solo concerti in full, in the comfort and convenience of Gregor's home. (With the orchestral parts ably played on the piano by VIv Balzat and Frances Cowan.)

The two concerti are :-


Dimitri Shostakovich           Cello Concerto No.1 in E-flat major Opus 107

                                                Allegretto – Moderato – Cadenza-Attacca – Allegro con moto

                                                Matthias Balzat Cello, Viv Balzat Piano (Orchestra Part)


Antonin Dvorac                  Cello Concerto in B minor Opus 104

                                                Allegro – Adagio – Finale

                                                Hyein Kim Cello, Francis Cowan Piano  (Orchestra Part)